Interviews - New Years Resolution - Dev Log 33

Interviews - New Years Resolution - Dev Log 33

Since my last update, I have been doing a lot of interviews with companies I have been applying to. Out of respect, I will not name any of the companies. The interviews have been going really well. An interview I had yesterday went really well and I am really excited to potentially land that position. I am already scheduled for what I believe is the last round interview, the technical, with them. So hopefully next week I knock it out of the park and get a nice job where I can grow as a developer and contribute to a team.

Even if I am able to complete my new year's resolution of making enough money from my own software to pay my bills, I would still like to get industry experience and work with other developers. Because having a secure job with a company I like is never a bad thing, I have definitely been putting off this challenge. Instead of working on a new piece of software, I have been grinding AlgoExpert questions and studying theory for the last couple of weeks. Like I said the company I am currently interviewing with seems really cool, so I am trying to do great on the upcoming technical.

I will have to admit though, that I am not great at data structure/algorithm questions. I am not about to go off on a rant about how ridiculous it is to have to solve them in order to land a FAANG job. Maybe I just see the practice as dumb because I am not great at it. On the other hand, if I wanted an electrician to handle the conduit in my house, I do not think that asking him to calculate the reverse charge running through a conductor that is inside a spinning electrical magnetic field would prove his ability to do so; just saying.

I am gonna head back to the theory grind, I apologize for not keeping my nose to the grindstone for the new year's resolution. I will get back to it as soon as I responsibly can.