New Years Resolution - Dev Log 10

New Years Resolution - Dev Log 10

THE VIDEO IS FINALLY HERE! youtube.com/watch?v=jvH9iTYzUbQ

Personal notes: Yesterday was very productive, so if you normally skip the stand-up section below, I suggest reading it. I posted the UI video, within the deadline, just saying. I did not edit the video at all because I got a lot on my plate as is. Now that the UI is essentially good to go for the time being, I get to start on the back end. I am gonna go with Redis and Node, and am starting on the Node portion after this post. I am trying to keep functionality simple for now in order to launch the product as soon as I can. At which time I can focus on marketing and shipping new features if need be.

Idea 1 - Job Board: Got a ton done yesterday working on the job board. I put the finishing touches on the UI. Used lighthouse to audit the performance and get that number up. turns out that Google released an image format called webp which kinda kicks ass. Just by switching over one image to that format, I saved like .2 seconds on the first contentful paint. On top of that, I downloaded the fonts and used them locally which saves a web request, and switched the font display to swap, which gives better performance by loading system font first then swapping for custom font once it has completely loaded the custom font. The one thing I could not change was that I have too many "critical requests chained". I understand the problem but do not know how to implement a good solution. After the performance category, I cracked down on accessibility. I technically score 100, but until the entire website is functional from the keyboard I am not really happy with it. I need to figure out how to allow tabbing to access the job cards. After those two categories, I got into SEO, which at that point I started regretting not building this in Next.JS. Overall, crushed yesterday in terms of productivity and hoping to ride that into today and get done with the webserver asap.

Idea 2 - Paid Plugins: Scratched

Idea 3 - SaaS: I have a solid idea for a SaaS company I believe, but will not start on this till my job board is out and functional, even though I'm really excited about it.